The Surroundings

The Luberon area

To the south, the hills of the Luberon dominate the quiet course of the Durance. Dry stone walls browned by the sun, colored by ocher facades of natural Provençal Colorado, terraces, shaded squares and fountains, all calls to the good life. In each village, artists and craftsmen compete for talent. On the hillsides and vineyards growcherry trees, and the plain is full of fruit, including the famous Cavaillon melon.

CASTLES OF LUBÉRON

In addition to the castles of Provence, the Luberon is home to 5 “Most beautiful villages in France”: Ansouis, Lourmarin, Ménerbes, Roussillon and Gordes, with its abbey of Sénanque and its bories.

Do not miss the Chateau de Lourmarin, the first Renaissance chateau in Provence, the Château d’Ansouis with its beautiful gardens or le Château de la Tour d’Aigues. Some house museums and collections or host festivals (Lourmarin, Gordes and Lacoste).

Plant and gardens lovers on the land area of Val Joanis will find enough to satisfy their passion. Also discover the Roman garden of Caumont sur Durance and Gerbaud farm in Lourmarin, specializing in aromatic plants.

The Little Provençal Colorado

The path to Ochre quarries of Roussillon, and Provencal Colorado in Rustrel, allow you to discover the true geological curiosity: you can walk in the middle of the maze by following colored panels explaining the formation and operation of ocher quarries and cliffs of their”blood and gold.

The Conservatory of ochres and pigments applied in Roussillon,welcomes the public in an old ocher factory for tours, workshops and educational workshops.

Perched Villages

Walks and cultural visits

Ansouis

Built away from the mistral, Ansouis dominates the Durance plain and one of the”Most Beautiful Villages of France” in Luberon.

The village crowned by its castle, with its beautiful French gardens, is one of the most beautiful in the Luberon. Fortress originally in the tenth century, it was modified in the twelfth and thirteenth in castle, then in the fifteenth and nineteenth centuries. In the Middle Ages, Ansouis was ideally placed to control the road between Aix en Provence and Apt.

Today, this village is wonderfully preserved. Before reaching the castle, cross the square and it runs through these streets with houses beautifully restored: the oldest date from the fifteenth and seventeenth centuries. Bed and breakfast, lodgings, restaurants, wineries … Ansouis, a village where life is good in all seasons.

Bonnieux

Bonnieux is a beautiful hilltop village, which lies on the northern slopes of the Luberon,facing the village of Lacoste.

Perched village in Luberon, but also the gateway to the Combe de Lourmarin, onepassage through the Luberon, and separates it into two. Very nice view of the Luberon mountains and plateaus of the Monts de Vaucluse.

To see : Museum of the Bakery, Old Church of the twelfth century, combining Romanesque and Gothic elements, remnants of towers and ramparts of the twelfth century Hôtel deRouville, beautiful house of the eighteenth century La Tour Philippe Le “Remarkable Garden” of the Louve.

Buoux

The municipality of Buoux is in the heart of the Luberon, at the crossroads of two ancient pathways that went from in Aix-en-Provence to Apt until the road of Combe de Lourmarin gets its current route.

Buoux is best known for its cliffs with many climbing routes that have been home to man since prehistoric times. A multitude of trails offers visitors a nature lovingly preserved,alternating woodlands and traditional cultures of Provence: thyme, lavender, honey, goat cheese and truffles.

To see : The Priory Saint Symphorien (Romanesque twelfth century), St. Mary’s Chapel(Roman style, thirteenth century), located in the cemetery and the Fort Buoux.

Gordes

Spent the last turns a beautiful road lined with dry stone walls, rises Gordes, perched village classified among the ‘Most Beautiful Villages of France’ in the heart of Parc Naturel Régional du Luberon.

Village acropolis, it is dominated by a Renaissance castle built in the center. Terraced houses on cliffs, steep streets with cobbled streets, stairs, small square with a fountain, private mansions, there emerges an extraordinary harmony of the village where the stone mineral reigns supreme.

To see : Do not miss the castle and its museum Pol Mara, the village of Bories (former group of dry stone huts used for agriculture), the Cistercian Abbey of Senanque, the Palais Saint-Firmin and his rooms troglodytes, the mill broth, Festival in the summer.

Lacoste

The charming hilltop village of Lacoste has a location in the heart of the Luberon Regional Natural Park. It partly owes its reputation for exceptional quality of the soft limestone and clear extracted from its quarries. The village is overlooked by the Castle of the divine Marquis, Louis-Alphonse Donatien de Sade who lived in the eighteenth century.

Looted and destroyed during the Revolution, it became property of the famous fashion designer Pierre Cardin, who has undertaken a great work of building and renovation of the site. Pierre Cardin is also dedicated to the restoration of many houses in the village and each summer, a festival of music and theater in the quarries. A picturesque village, mineral which undoubtedly inspire students in the School of American Art Savannah College of Art and Design located in the village !

To see : Cobbled streets, Stroll around the castle, Galleries.

Ménerbes

Ranked among the most beautiful villages in France, Ménerbes, from the sky, similar to a stone vessel. Among its advantages, a view over the Luberon and the Monts de Vaucluse,but also proud of narrow streets lined with mansions of the eighteenth century and old houses.

The village was home to famous artists, including painter Nicolas de Stael, Picasso and Dora Maar, but the British author Peter Mayle, who contributed in the 80’s to his worldwide fame. It is now visiting his insoliteMusée the Corkscrew or taste Côtes du Luberon in the magnificent Maison de la Truffe and Wine.

To see : The dolmen of Pichouno, identified in 1850 by Father Andrew,  The Castelet, small castle built on the ruins of an ancient fortress, The richly decorated church of the fourteenth century, The belfry and bell tower, The chapel St. Blaise of the eighteenth century.

Mirabeau

Located on the banks of the Durance, in the heart of Provence, this village is a Provencal celebrity. Ancestral home of the famous revolutionary Mirabeau, he has also lent its stones and its payasages for the film “Manon des Sources” History and People, this place bathed in sunlight will surely seduce you.

To see : River Durance and originality of the remains of his old suspension bridge (gantry monumental neo-Roman);  The imposing castle (private); Porches and beautiful fountains; Wine bouquets.

Oppède-le-Vieux

The medieval houses and Renaissance, the Church of the XII, the ruins of medieval castles, wash houses and chapels of St. Lawrence and St. Antonin create a timeless atmosphere. A must-Luberon hilltop village. Those who climb the alley calade to the top are rewarded with a 360 ° panorama. Bicycle tours and walking through the village in which to stop for a drink in the square. Every summer, the artist Michel Leeb organizes the festival Oppède.

To see : Church of Our Lady of Dolidon (or Alidon) located at the top, The ruins (tower and walls) of a medieval castle and remains of ancient workshops. You can see the remains of the fortifications by walking through the old village, Le Moulin Saint Augustine opens its doors to lovers of olive oil.

Roussillon

Located in the Regional Park of Luberon, Roussillon is, after Gordes , the second most visited village in the Luberon and deserves the ranking of “Most Beautiful Villages of France”.

The village is built on top of a cliff of ocher and offers visitors a perfect harmony of colors with stone roofs and facades impregnated with the same red tone as surrounding landscapes. He fired a long time its wealth from the exploitation of natural pigments contained in its ocher earth until the advent of synthetic dyes.

We must discover the history of this industry by visiting Ochre Conservatory and colors in a former factory ocher. We learn all about the exploitation and processing of ocher and there is organizing regular training courses. To follow as well, the footpath (paid) at the heart of old quarries that reveals the beauty of color and exuberance of the warm colors that stand out from those offered by an intense green Mediterranean vegetation.

The route cyclo “The Ochre bicycle” allows you to find gently shimmering landscapes of the Luberon.

 

Saignon

Hilltop overlooking the town of Apt which was once the sentinel houses Saignon wrapped around his rock. Some embrace the rock with cave dwellings that can be seen from the plain.

The walker is guided through the streets, leading to the church St. Mary the twelfth century and the rock of Bellevue where you can admire the view over the Luberon mountains.

Certainly a charming village which still flows in the square, the fountain, dear to the Provencal !

Le Pays de Sorgues

Situated between Mont Ventoux and the Luberon hills, the Sorgues – Monts de Vaucluse is fed and watered by the Sorgue river of clear water with a thousand arms, which made ​​the country an oasis of greenery and freshness.

L’Isle sur la Sorgue has become since 30 years a capital of antiquing : The antique “villages”, the antique fairs and markets on Sunday made ​​its reputation. Every year, Easter and August 15 are unmissable for lovers of the object, the unusual, the beautiful. In total 800 exhibitors sites exploded across the city, make this event one of the largest in Europe.

A little further...

Aix-en-Provence

City water, city of art, in the imagination of each city was built and developed around this dual identity. But Aix is a city that knows how to combine different eras and cultures.

Open to the world, it is a city with human dimensions which live in perfect harmony a preserved heritage and the city of tomorrow. Here, everything is color and sensations: light of heaven, golden stone facades, transparent green fountains, shaded by plane trees, surprises nights of festivals … Aix en Provence welcomes you …

Avignon

In the 14th century, seven popes and two anti-popes have succeeded in Avignon in Provence! It is understood that the city has become a political and spiritual capitals of Europe, and it still houses a considerable wealth largely classified “World Heritage” by UNESCO.

In the 17th century, Avignon remains a crossroads between Italian and French art and continues to attract many artists. Haven, Avignon is thriving and attracts foreign clerics, artists, traders, bankers and even political outlaws like Petrarch in the 14th century. The arts are booming.

Avignon Festival

Avignon is in three weeks, the biggest stage of the show alive in Europe. The “In”invested the legendary stage of the courtyard of the Palais des Papes which occurred at the time, Gerard Philippe, but also theaters, chapels and cloisters of the city.

With over 40 shows in twenty places, the Festival d’Avignon is one of the oldest and most famous theater festival in the world.

The French Riviera

The Riviera is located in the South of France, it covers the departments of Var and Alpes-Maritimes, it is part ofProvence. The Riviera has several advantages that all promote tourism. First an exceptional climate, the sun is there many days of the year and the temperature is remarkably mild in winter. Then the simultaneous presence of the sea, the Mediterranean and mountains of Alps. Indeed, the Riviera is surrounded by the Southern Alps with peaks reaching 3000meters. The Alps Niçoises overlook the Mediterranean. The Alpine foothills around the town of Grasse rise above 1700 meters. All offer views of landscapes and of exceptional quality with strong colors and cheerful.

Les Maisonnettes de Lourmarin
Rue de la Juiverie 84
160 Lourmarin (France)
SIREN 428 473 193

+33 6 83 06 79 75

maisonnettesenprovence@gmail.com

 trip airbnb

©2017 maisonnettesenprovence.com all rights reserved | Designed by Pixelflap | Powered by Infinitech | General Conditions | Privacy

Excursions à partir de Lourmarin

Le Lubéron

Au sud, les collines du Luberon dominent le cours tranquille de la Durance. Murs de pierre sèche dorés par le soleil, façades teintées par les ocres naturelles du Colorado provençal, terrasses, placettes ombragées et fontaines, tout appelle à la douceur de vivre.
Dans chaque village, artistes et artisans rivalisent de talents. Sur les coteaux poussent vignobles et cerisiers, et la plaine regorge de fruits dont le fameux melon de Cavaillon.

Les Châteaux du Lubéron

Outre les châteaux de Provence, le Luberon abrite 5 « Plus beaux villages de France » : Ansouis, Lourmarin, Ménerbes, Roussillon, et Gordes, avec son abbaye de Sénanque et ses bories.

Côté Châteaux en Provence, ne manquez pas le Château de Lourmarin, premier château Renaissance en Provence, le Château d’Ansouis avec ses beaux jardins ou encore le Château de la Tour d’Aigues. Certains (Lourmarin, Lacoste et Gordes) abritent musées et collections ou accueillent des festivals.

Les amateurs de plantes et de jardins trouveront sur les terrasses du Domaine Val Joanis de quoi satisfaire leur passion. A découvrir également, le jardin romain de Caumont sur Durance et la ferme de Gerbaud à Lourmarin, spécialisée dans les plantes aromatiques.

Le Petit Colorado Provençal

Le sentier des carrières d’Ocre à Roussillon et le Colorado Provençal à Rustrel permettent de découvrir cette véritable curiosité géologique : on peut se promener au milieu de ce labyrinthe multicolore en suivant les panneaux explicatifs sur la formation et l’exploitation des carrières d’ocre et de leurs falaises « sang et or ».

Le Conservatoire des Ocres et Pigments appliqués, à Roussillon, accueille le public dans une ancienne usine d’ocre pour des visites guidées, stages et ateliers pédagogiques.

Les Villages perchés

Vos vacances à la découverte des alentours de Lourmarin

Ansouis

Construit à l’abri du mistral, Ansouis domine la plaine de la Durance et compte parmi les “Plus Beaux Villages de France» en Luberon.

Le village couronné par son château, avec ses beaux jardins à la française, est l’un des plus beaux du Luberon. Forteresse à l’origine au Xe, il fut modifié aux XIIe et XIIIe en château, puis aux XVe et XIXe siècles. Au moyen âge, Ansouis occupait une place idéale pour contrôler la route entre Aix en Provence et Apt.

Aujourd’hui, ce village est merveilleusement conservé. Avant d’atteindre le château, on traverse la grande place et on parcourt les ruelles aux maisons joliment restaurées : les plus anciennes datent des XVe et XVIIe siècles. Chambres d’hôtes de charme, gîtes, restaurant, domaines viticoles… Ansouis un village où il fait bon vivre en toutes saisons.

Bonnieux

Bonnieux est un beau village perché, qui se situe sur le versant nord du Luberon, face au village de Lacoste.

Village perché du Luberon mais aussi porte d’entrée de la combe de Lourmarin, seul passage qui traverse le Luberon, et sépare ce dernier en deux. Très belle vue sur le petit Luberon et sur les plateaux des Monts de Vaucluse.

Buoux

La commune de Buoux est située au cœur du Luberon, au carrefour de deux voies de passage millénaires qui allaient d’Aix-en-Provence à Apt jusqu’à ce que la route de la combe de Lourmarin obtienne son tracé actuel.

Buoux est surtout célèbre pour ses falaises offrant de nombreuses voies d’escalade qui ont servi de refuge à l’homme dès la Préhistoire. Une multitude de sentiers balisés offre aux promeneurs une nature amoureusement préservée, où alternent les zones boisées et les cultures traditionnelles de Provence : thym, lavandin, miel, fromage de chèvre et truffes.

Gordes

Passé les derniers virages d’une jolie route bordée de murs de pierre sèche, surgit Gordes, village perché classé parmi les ‘Plus Beaux Villages de France’ au cœur du Parc Naturel Régional du Luberon.

Village-acropole, il est dominé par un château Renaissance érigé en son centre. Maisons étagées à flanc de falaise, ruelles pentues en calades, escaliers, placette où coule une fontaine, hôtels particuliers, il se dégage du village une extraordinaire harmonie minérale où la pierre règne en maître.

Lacoste

Le charmant village perché de Lacoste possède une situation exceptionnelle au cœur du Parc Naturel régional du Luberon. Il doit en partie sa réputation à la qualité exceptionnelle de la pierre calcaire tendre et claire extraite de ses carrières. Le village est surplombé par le Château du divin Marquis, Louis-Alfonse Donatien de Sade qui l’habita au XVIIIe siècle.

Pillé et détruit à la Révolution, il est devenu propriété du célèbre couturier Pierre Cardin qui a entrepris un grand travail de consolidation et rénovation du site. Pierre Cardin se consacre également à la restauration de nombreuses maisons du village et produit chaque été, un festival de musique et de théâtre dans les carrières. Un village pittoresque, minéral qui inspire sans aucun doute les élèves de L’Ecole d’Art américaine Savannah College of Art and Design installée dans le village !

Ménerbes

Classé parmi les plus beaux villages de France, Ménerbes, vu du ciel, s’apparente à un vaisseau de pierre. Parmi ses atouts, une vue imprenable sur le Luberon et les Monts de Vaucluse, mais aussi de fières ruelles bordées d’hôtels particuliers du XVIIIe siècle et de vieilles demeures.

Le village abrita des artistes illustres, parmi lesquels le peintre Nicolas de Staël, Picasso et Dora Maar, mais aussi l’écrivain britannique Peter Mayle qui contribua dans les années 80 à sa renommée mondiale. On y vient désormais visiter son insolite Musée du Tire-Bouchon ou déguster des Côtes du Luberon dans la somptueuse Maison de la Truffe et du Vin.

Mirabeau

Situé au bord de la Durance, au coeur de la Provence, ce village est une célébrité provençale. Terre ancestrale du fameux révolutionnaire, il a également prêté ses pierres et ses payasages pour la réalisation du film “Manon des Sources”.

Historique et populaire, ce lieu gorgé de soleil saura sans nul doute vous séduire.

Oppède-le-Vieux

Les Maisons Médiévales et Renaissance, l’Eglise du XIIe, les ruines du Château Médiéval, les lavoirs et chapelles Saint-Laurent et Saint-Antonin créent une ambiance intemporelle. Un village perché incontournable du Luberon. Ceux qui grimpent la ruelle en calade jusqu’au sommet sont récompensés par un panorama à 360°.

Circuits vélos et pédestres traversent le village où il fait bon s’arrêter pour se désaltérer sur la place. Chaque été, l’artiste Michel Leeb y organise le festival d’Oppède.

Roussillon

Situé dans le Parc Régional du Luberon, Roussillon est, après Gordes, le deuxième village le plus visité du Luberon et mérite le classement de “Plus beaux villages de France”.
Le village est bâti au sommet d’une falaise d’ocre et offre aux visiteurs une parfaite harmonie de couleurs avec ses pierres, ses toits, et ses façades imprégnés des mêmes tonalités rouge que les paysages avoisinants. Il a tiré longtemps sa richesse de l’exploitation des pigments naturels contenus dans sa terre ocre jusqu’à l’apparition des colorants synthétiques.
Il faut découvrir l’histoire de cette industrie en visitant le Conservatoire des Ocres et des Couleurs installé dans une ancienne usine d’ocre. On y apprend tout sur l’exploitation et la transformation de l’ocre et on y organise des stages de formation réguliers. A suivre aussi, le sentier aménagé (payant) au cœur des anciennes carrières qui permet de découvrir la beauté du site et l’exubérance des couleurs aux teintes chaudes qui se découpent sur celles d’un vert intense offert par la végétation méditerranéenne.
L’itinéraire cyclo “Les Ocres à vélo” vous permet de découvrir en douceur les paysages chatoyants du Luberon.

Saignon

Haut perché, dominant la ville d’Apt dont il fut jadis la sentinelle, Saignon enroule ses maisons autour de son piton rocheux. Certaines épousent même la roche avec des maisons troglodytiques que l’on aperçoit depuis la plaine.

Le promeneur se laisse guider au fil des rues, qui mènent à l’Eglise Sainte-Marie du XIIe siècle et au rocher de Bellevue d’où l’on peut admirer le panorama sur les montagnes du Luberon.

Un village de charme assurément où coule encore sur la place, la fontaine, chère aux provençaux !

Le Pays de Sorgues

Situé entre Mont-Ventoux et collines du Luberon, le Pays des Sorgues – Monts de Vaucluse est alimenté et irrigué par la Sorgue, rivière d’une eau limpide aux mille bras, qui fait de ce pays une véritable oasis de verdure et de fraîcheur.

L’Isle sur la Sorgue est devenue depuis 30 ans une capitale de la chine : Les « villages » d’antiquaire, les foires d’antiquités et le marché du dimanche ont fait sa notoriété. Chaque année, Pâques et le 15 août sont les rendez-vous incontournables pour les amoureux de l’objet, de l’insolite, du beau. Au total 800 exposants sur des sites éclatés dans toute la ville, font de cette manifestation l’une des plus importantes d’Europe.

... Et jusqu’à la côte d’Azur !

Aix-en-Provence

Ville d’eau, ville d’art, dans l’imaginaire de chacun la ville s’est construite et se développe toujours autour de cette double identité. Mais Aix est aussi une ville qui sait conjuguer les époques et les cultures.

Ouverte sur le monde, c’est une cité aux dimensions humaines où cohabitent en parfaite harmonie un patrimoine préservé et la ville de demain. Ici, tout est couleurs et sensations : lumière du ciel, pierre dorée des façades, vert transparent des fontaines, ombre des platanes, surprises des nuits de festivals… Aix en Provence vous souhaite la bienvenue…

Avignon

Au 14ème siècle, sept papes et deux anti-papes se sont succédés à Avignon en Provence ! On comprend que la ville soit devenue une des capitales politiques et spirituelles d’Europe, et qu’elle abrite encore un patrimoine considérable en grande partie classé « Patrimoine mondial » par l’UNESCO.

Au 17ème siècle, Avignon demeure un carrefour entre l’art italien et français et continue d’attirer de nombreux artistes. Terre d’asile, Avignon est florissante et attire les étrangers, les religieux, les artistes, les négociants, les banquiers et même les proscrits politiques comme Pétrarque au 14ème siècle. Les arts connaissent un développement considérable

Le Festival d’Avignon

Avignon devient durant 3 semaines, la plus grande scène du spectacle vivante d’Europe. Le “In” investie la scène mythique de la Cour d’honneur du Palais des Papes où s’est produit en son temps, Gérard Philippe, mais aussi les théâtres, chapelles et cloître de la ville.

Avec plus de 40 spectacles dans une vingtaine de lieux, le Festival d’Avignon est un des plus anciens et des plus célèbres festival de théâtre au monde.

La Côte d’Azur

La Côte d’Azur se situe au Sud de la France, elle s’étend sur les départements du Var et des Alpes-Maritimes, elle fait partie de la Provence. La Côte d’Azur cumule plusieurs avantages qui tous favorisent le tourisme. D’abord un climat exceptionnel, le soleil est là de nombreux jours de l’année et la température est remarquablement douce en hiver. Ensuite la présence simultanée de la mer, la Méditerranée, et de montagnes, les Alpes.

En effet, la Côte d’Azur est encadrée par les Alpes du Sud dont certains sommets atteignent 3 000 mètres d’altitude. Les Préalpes Niçoises donnent directement sur la Méditerranée. Les Préalpes autour de la ville de Grasse s’élèvent au delà de 1 700 mètres. L’ensemble offre des paysages et panoramas d’une qualité exceptionnelle avec des couleurs soutenues et gaies.

Les Maisonnettes de Lourmarin
Rue de la Juiverie 84
160 Lourmarin (France)
SIREN 428 473 193

+33 6 83 06 79 75

maisonnettesenprovence@gmail.com

 trip airbnb

©2017 maisonnettesenprovence.com tous droits réservés | Designed by Pixelflap | Powered by Infinitech | Conditions generales | Confidentialite